Breast Cancer Symposium - Enhancing Clinical Care Through Collaboration

Cosponsor Information

American Society of Breast Disease (ASBD)

Founded in 1976, the American Society of Breast Disease (ASBD) is the only medical society in the United States to advocate a multidisciplinary team approach as the standard of excellence in managing benign and malignant breast conditions. The society provides professional education and advanced training in breast disease and cancer prevention, early detection, treatment, survivorship, and research. Through its policy statements and collaborations with other scientific societies and advocacy organizations, the ASBD advances the shared agenda of health care professionals committed to improved patient care. Members of the ASBD are leaders in a variety of medical disciplines, including diagnostic radiology, family practice, imaging technologies, internal medicine, genetics, oncology, and nursing, as well as advocacy groups and administration in the United States and internationally. The society is led by President Jean Lynn, MPH, RN, OC.

American Society of Breast Surgeons (ASBrS)

Founded in 1995, the American Society of Breast Surgeons (ASBrS) is the primary leadership organization for general surgeons who treat patients with benign or malignant breast disease. Through initiatives that promote research and development of advanced surgery techniques, including continuing medical education, the Society contributes to higher standards of practice and improved patient care. The American Society of Breast Surgeons is committed to continually improving the practice of breast surgery by being an advocate for surgeons who seek excellence in the care of patients. This mission is accomplished by serving as a forum for the exchange of ideas and by promoting education, research, and the development of advanced surgical techniques. The society has more than 3,000 members in the United States and in 35 countries throughout the world, and is led by President Hiram S. Cody, III, MD, FACS. Dr. Cody is an attending surgeon on the Breast Service, Department of Surgery, at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer (MSKCC), and professor of clinical surgery at Weill Cornell Medical College, in New York.


American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)

Founded in 1964, the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) is the world’s leading professional organization that represents physicians who treat people with cancer. ASCO’s members set the standard for patient care worldwide and lead the way in clinical research aimed at improving the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of cancer. ASCO’s efforts also are directed toward advocating for policies that provide access to high-quality care for all patients with cancer and at supporting the increased funding for clinical and translational research. ASCO has nearly 35,000 members worldwide, with international members from more than 100 countries. The Society is led by President Peter P. Yu, MD, FASCO, of Palo Alto Medical Foundation, and CEO Allen S. Lichter, MD.


American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO)

American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) is the premier radiation oncology society in the world, with more than 10,000 members who are physicians, nurses, biologist, physicists, radiation therapists, dosimetrists, and other health care professionals that specialize in treating patients with radiation therapies. As the leading organization in radiation oncology, the Society is dedicated to improving patient care through professional education and training, support for clinical practice and health policy standards, advancement of science and research, and advocacy.  The Society is led by Chairman of the Board Bruce G. Haffty, MD, FASTRO, of Rutgers-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and the Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey, and CEO Laura I. Thevenot.  To learn more about ASTRO, visit


National Consortium of Breast Centers, Inc. (NCBC, Inc.)

Founded in 1985, the National Consortium of Breast Centers, Inc. (NCBC) focuses on the development, implementation, and expansion of breast center programs to allow professionals to be informed of the most up-to-date health care techniques and options related to breast care available for their patients. Its mission and purpose is to promote excellence in health care for the general public through a network of diverse professionals who specialize in breast care and who are dedicated to the active exchange of ideas and resources. The organization boasts more than 2,000 members including professionals specializing in breast health who provide direct patient care, and corporations and businesses that provide services or products to health professionals specializing in breast care and their organizations. NCBC is led by President Gary M. Levine, MD, Hoag Breast Care Center. For more information about NCBC please visit


The Society of Surgical Oncology (SSO)

The Society of Surgical Oncology (SSO) is the premier organization for surgeons and health care providers dedicated to advancing and promoting the science and treatment of cancer. The Society’s focus on all solid-tumor disease sites is reflected in its Annual Cancer Symposium, monthly scientific journal (Annals of Surgical Oncology), educational initiatives, and committee structure. The Society’s mission is to improve multidisciplinary patient care by advancing the science, education, and practice of cancer surgery worldwide. SSO’s 2014-15 President is Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, associate vice president, UI Health Alliance, and EA Crowell Jr. Professor and Chairman, Department of Surgery, University of Iowa, Iowa City. For more information, visit or


Cosponsored by